Labor Day is the Time to Think Holiday Promotions

Every year I encourage small business to start getting their holiday promotions ready in September and every year there are those who ignore this advice. While I understand how and why this happens, let me explain why it’s a mistake to put it off.

“Yes, Christmas is coming, but it’s three and a half months away! I’ve got a lot on my plate, why should I worry about the holidays now? I can do it later.” This is generally the attitude of small business owners. I get it. You’re extra busy, especially if you have kids who are just getting back to school. It’s hard to add anything to To-Do list, but if you depend on increased revenue to make your own holidays bright, you need to have a plan.

So, let’s count backwards from December 25. When do you want your holiday promotions to go live? November 1 is really the latest your offer should be in place if you want people to take advantage of it for Thanksgiving and holiday gift shopping. Remember, many people like to have their holiday shopping done by Thanksgiving, so if your offer isn’t available until December 1, you’ll miss out on the most eager and efficient portion of your market.

“Ok, so then I need to think about it in October,” they say. I have tried this and while it may sound “woo”, Mercury is typically retrograde in October. Many people have come to respect the difficulty this can present, but even if you don’t agree, it is hard to create special offers under these conditions, particularly if you need to order stock or coordinate with a copywriter or graphic artist. Remember, many other small businesses will be trying to get their holiday promotions ready at this time and you may find availability to be limited.

In my experience, the best plan is to:

  • Decide what your holiday special(s) will be early in September and order any stock you will need.
  • Connect with your copywriter or graphic designer to create your sales materials (like email, print, and/or social media ads) by the end of the month.
  • Pre-load and schedule all sales materials into their respective platforms to publish automatically when the time is right.

It is a busy time, but it’s only going to get worse as the holidays approach. With my advice, you will not only sell more, but you’ll reduce your own stress dramatically. It even allows for a bit of wiggle room, so deadlines aren’t so vital or rigid. If you can start promoting your holiday offers by mid-October, you’ll be ahead of the game and prepared for the best holiday season possible.

About Cathy Wagner

Formerly ONE STOP Internet Business Services, I've been an online business professional and consultant for 20 years. I know all the ins and outs of doing business online. These days, I'd rather focus on the part I really love...words that sell. My strong empathic nature has always helped me to understand the needs and motivations of customers, identify resistance points, and also, to see into the heart of any business to express it in words. I don't just tell people what you're offering, I create powerfully effective messaging for your business that speaks in your voice to engage customers, close sales, and build brand loyalty.
This entry was posted in Articles, Online Business Tips, Posts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment