How Can I Write for Any Business? Research.

I’ve learned that some people think, “I write copy for all types of small business” is too bold of a claim. Maybe it seems more logical that I would specialize with a certain type of business. You might think I could grow a certain kind of expertise that would make me the best person to write copy for your business, but the truth is, there’s only so many ways to reword what is essentially the same offer I wrote for your competition. Over time, it gets harder to come up with the same kind of originality and creativity that went into earlier efforts.

“But, how can you “know” every business?”

I don’t “know” every business, and in many cases, that’s a good thing. It means I have to learn about each client’s business and understand it well enough to tell other people about it. I’m not just talking about the products, I need to be able to make customers feel confident enough to enter their payment information. This is where the research comes in.

“Research?”

Yes, research. Once a client and I decide to work together, it’s the first priority. I start by carefully reviewing the client’s full online presentation, including their website, blog, and social media channels, from a perspective of someone who knows nothing about them and noting any questions that come up. I also look at their web traffic statistics when available. Then I check out the most relevant competitor websites for keywords, presentation, pricing, etc. I bring all this information to a scheduled call with the client where I ask questions about their products or services, delivery methods, target customers, resistance points, previous marketing efforts, etc. By the end of this call, I have everything I need to convey their offer in a way that’s compelling and unique to their business style.

Your Success is My Success

My expertise is selling on the Internet and my entire career has been dedicated to helping small business owners earn more money doing what they love. I take great pride in my ability to “write copy for all types of small business” and have proven myself to clients around the world, like the mobile dog groomer in San Francisco, insurance salesman in the UK, and house cleaner in Australia. In 20 years, my clients have ranged from artists, photographers, writers, and inventors to real estate agents, spas, restaurants, and retail shops. I truly have the skills and experience to help any small business generate more online sales. Contact me for a Free Copy Audit and find out for yourself.

About Cathy Wagner

Formerly ONE STOP Internet Business Services, I've been an online business professional and consultant for 20 years. I know all the ins and outs of doing business online. These days, I'd rather focus on the part I really love...words that sell. My strong empathic nature has always helped me to understand the needs and motivations of customers, identify resistance points, and also, to see into the heart of any business to express it in words. I don't just tell people what you're offering, I create powerfully effective messaging for your business that speaks in your voice to engage customers, close sales, and build brand loyalty.
This entry was posted in Copy Writing Tips, Posts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment