Is Comcast Blocking Your Business Web Site?

I recently downloaded xFi, the Comcast app, on my phone. I got my pc connected to the Internet and everything was working properly. After a few days, I connected the phone to the home wifi network and noticed a problem right away, but I didn’t understand what caused it. Suddenly, I could not access my business web site on my pc.

The error said the connection timed out. I hadn’t made any changes to the site in weeks, so I knew it was something else. Did I forget to pay the domain name renewal? No, it was up to date. Was my web site hacked? When I tried to login to the control panel, the page wouldn’t load and gave the same error.

By now, I was starting to get upset. Luckily, I manage the server space for my site, so I logged in to that account. I was able to confirm there had been no uploads in weeks. Everything looked fine. I reached for my phone to see if it could load the page and noticed an alert from xFi. It said they blocked a malicious site! I checked the time and IP address. This was it! Comcast’s Advanced Security had blocked my site! When I disabled the security function, I was able to access it again with no error or issues.

The next day, I set about finding the answer to this problem. I conducted a thorough search to see if my IP address was blacklisted in some way. I use HostGator and while some of their servers might have a bad reputation, I’ve been managing my own reseller space for over 10 years. The only sites on it are owned by people I know and in most cases, I built them myself. Still, I thought it best to check before I called Comcast. My IP address was not listed on any of the SPAM and malware block lists I could find.

I felt stumped. By what criteria did Comcast think my site was a threat? I searched to see if I could find out which block list Comcast uses. Instead, I found Comcast forum posts complaining that Comcast had blocked MANY business web sites dated as far back as February 13, 2020. As I read through the posts, it became clear that Comcast didn’t have a ready solution for their customers who complained. The best the Comcast employee could do for them was collect their URL’s and send them up the support chain to a department that would put them on a white list.

So, I took a deep breath and called Comcast Customer Support. The first rep I spoke to wanted to walk me through trouble shooting. I said, “No, I’m not doing that. I need you to transfer me to someone who can put me on a white list.” The next rep said my problem was over his head, so he transferred me to an Internet Tech. The Tech said I needed Security, and Security Level 1 said I needed Security Level 2, but she couldn’t transfer me. After playing a stressful sort of phone tag with Security for a few days, it was ultimately resolved without ever explaining why my site was blocked.

It was a frustrating and time consuming experience, even if it was successful. To me, it’s shocking that so many Comcast customers have been affected by a problem that’s been reported and uncorrected for at least 8 months. Then I wondered, how many other business web sites are being blocked without the owners even knowing about it. I mean, if you’re not a Comcast customer who was blocked from viewing your own site, you probably wouldn’t guess that such a thing could ever happen.

How Do I Know if My Site is Blocked?

There doesn’t seem to be an online tool designed to give this information. So, if you’re not a Comcast customer, you’ll have to ask one to see if they can pull up your site while xFi’s Advanced Security is enabled. Another idea is to call Comcast’s Security Customer Service number which is 888.565.4329. Tell them you’re concerned and ask what you can do to find out more.

How Do I Get Them to Remove the Block?

If Comcast is blocking your business web site, this is the link they’ll finally give you after days of trying to communicate with Customer Service and Security Customer Service http://postmaster.comcast.net/block-removal-request.html It takes you to a form asking the Comcast Postmaster to remove your IP address from their block list. I’m not sure I would trust this alone, so I will also give you the phone number where you can reach a Security rep who can be pestered to address your situation immediately 888.565.4329.

I can’t speak for Comcast policy regarding non-customers. For you, the form might be your only option. Still, it might create more awareness among management if their reps are spending all their time fielding calls about this one issue. You decide.

Address This ASAP

Unless you’re willing to run advertising that includes instructions for Comcast customers to disable xFi’s Advanced Security in order to view your site, most of those customers will think your site is unsafe. Not only will you lose their business this time, they might hesitate to click your URL again in the future out of fear from a non-existent threat. This is a big deal. Don’t wait, particularly with the holidays right around the corner.

About Cathy Wagner

Formerly ONE STOP Internet Business Services, I've been an online business professional and consultant for 20 years. I know all the ins and outs of doing business online. These days, I'd rather focus on the part I really love...words that sell. My strong empathic nature has always helped me to understand the needs and motivations of customers, identify resistance points, and also, to see into the heart of any business to express it in words. I don't just tell people what you're offering, I create powerfully effective messaging for your business that speaks in your voice to engage customers, close sales, and build brand loyalty.
This entry was posted in Articles, Online Business Tips, Posts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.